2022 Midterm Election Results


Photo by: Terri Sewell-Public domain

Voting location in Alabama

By: Cara Halford, Writer

On November 8th millions of voters cast their ballots for the 2022 midterm elections. From abortion access in the face Roe v Wade’s overturn to inflation to election denial, hot topics were on the table. State elections took national attention in places like Arizona, Georgia, Pennsylvania, and more. With close races and record setting young voter turnout, this election went down in the history books.

Although not every race has been officially called, here are the results thus far:

National Results

The Senate

Democrats retained control of the Senate with 50 seats. Notable Democratic victories included Mark Kelly from Arizona, Catherine Cortez Masto of Nevada, John Fetterman from Pennsylvania,  Maggie Hassan from New Hampshire, and Raphael Warnock in Georgia’s December runoff. 

Republicans won 49 seats. Notable Republican victories included Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, Ted Budd of North Carolina, and JD Vance of Ohio.

The House of Representatives

The Republicans took control of the House for the first time since 2018 with 218 seats. Notable Republican victories include Zach Nunn of Iowa, Don Bacon of Nebraska, and Brandon Williams of New York.

Democrats won 210 seats. Notable Democratic victories include Johana Hayes of Connecticut, Eric Sorenson of Illinois, and Elissa Slotkin of Michigan.

Six Republican seats switched to Democrat and 12 Democratic seats switched to Republican.

Undeclared races: Two races in California remain uncalled, but they are projected to go to the Republican party.

State Results


Photo by: Gage Skidmore-Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.0
Ron Desantis rallying support for his 2022 reelection campaign at the “Unite & Win Rally”

4 races were flipped to opposing parties in Arizona, Nevada, Massachusetts, and Maryland. 


Notable Democratic victories include Katie Hobbs of Arizona, Wes Moore of Maryland who became the state’s first African American governor, and Maura Healey of Massachusetts.

Notable Republican victories include Joe Lombardo of Nevada, Ron DeSantis of Florida, and Greg Abbot of Texas.

Undeclared races: Alaska’s race for governor remains uncalled, but Republican candidate Mike Dunleavy is in the lead.

Secretary of State

As of now only one secretary of state position was flipped, the Nevada seat, which went from Republican to Democratic. 

Notable Democratic victories include Adrian Fontes of Arizona, Cisco Aguilar of Nevada, and Jocelyn Benson of Michigan. 

Notable Republican victories include Brad Raffensperger of Georgia, Diego Morales of Indiana, and Frank LaRose of Ohio.

Ballot Measures

Arizona voters voted No on Proposition 309, which would enact stricter voting ID laws.

Arkansas voters voted against the legalization of marijuana.

In California, voters codified the right to abortion in the states’ constitution through voting yes on Proposition 1.

California voters voted No on Proposition 26, which would legalize sports betting on tribal lands.

Iowa voters codified the right to bear arms under the state’s constitution through voting yes on Amendment 1.

Kentucky voters rejected Amendment 2, which would remove the right to abortion.

According to Time Magazine, Kentucky, California, Michigan, Vermont, and Montana all voted to protect abortion rights under state law during the midterm elections.

Local Results


Republican Mike Crapo retained his seat in the US senate.

Photo by: Lt Governor Brad Little from Emmett, Idaho, United States of America-Creative Commons Attribution 2.0
Governor Brad Little at his ranch near Emmett, Idaho

Republicans Russ Fulcher (District 1) and Mike Simpson (District 2) retained their seats in the US House.

Incumbent Republican Brad Little was reelected as Governor.

Republican Scott Bedke was elected as Lieutenant Governor.

Republican Phil Mcgrane was elected as Secretary of State.

Republican Brandon D Wolfe was elected as State Controller.

Republican Julie A. Ellsworth was elected as State Treasurer.

Republican Raul Labrador was elected as Attorney General. His opposition, Democratic candidate Tom Arkoosh, gained the highest percentage of votes (37.38%) cast for a Democratic candidate in Idaho.

Republican Debbie Critchfield was elected as Superintendent of Public Institution.

District 18 (Timberline’s District) 

Democrat Ilana Rubel won her race for State Representative of District 18, Seat A.

Democrat Brooke Green won her race for State Representative of District 18, Seat B.

Democrat Janie Ward Engleking won her race for a State Senate seat representing District 18.